Skip Navigation
Login or register
Housing and Civil Enforcement Section U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division
No Recommendations Yet Click here to recommend.
Add Comment
Share This
No Recommendations Yet Click here to recommend.
The Department of Justice files suits in Federal court to enforce the Federal Fair Housing Act, which prohibits discrimination in housing on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or familial status. Mental illness is considered a disability under the Act. Discrimination in all aspects of sale and rental transactions is unlawful, as are discriminatory zoning and land use laws and practices. With respect to disability, discrimination includes a refusal to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices, or services where such accommodation may be necessary to afford equal housing opportunity. The Department can take enforcement action based on information received from private parties, from its independent investigative efforts, or from the Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Washington, D.C.
RSS Feed
About Us  -  Contact Us
Home  -  Training  -  Homelessness Resource Center Library  -  Facts  -  Topics  -  Partners  -  Events  -  PATH  -  SSH
Advanced Search
Acknowledgements -  Help -  Accessibility -  SAMHSA Privacy Policy -  Plain Language -  Disclaimer -  SAMHSA Web Site
Download PDF Reader
A program of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Mental Health Services